When Ohio residents begin their vacations to an out of state destination, they may find themselves at the rental car counter, filling out forms and answering questions related to the type of car and insurance coverage they would like for their rental car. People are asked whether they want basic coverage or additional as well and a study has shown that 42 percent of people renting a car were either thoroughly confused or had only a rough idea about insurance.
In Ohio, it is against the law to drive without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. However, did you know that almost 14 percent of Ohio motorists are uninsured? According to the Dayton Business Journal, the Buckeye State is the 20th riskiest state in which to drive.
Ohio residents may not know that it is illegal to drive in the state without minimum liability insurance. Ohio law mandates the minimum amount of insurance that people must carry, but drivers are free to get higher coverage.
When an Ohio resident is injured in a car accident, the last thing they may be thinking of is whether the driver who hit them has insurance or not. But this may be an important question to consider when it comes to holding the reckless driver responsible for their behavior through a personal injury lawsuit.
When there is a motor vehicle accident in Ohio, injured people will face medical expenses. The assumption is that insurance will pay for medical expenses and other costs involved in a crash. However, underinsured or uninsured motorists can be a problem. Many people are unaware of the frequency of drivers who are not properly insured and do not know what to do if they can't get insurance to pay for their medical expenses.
Going through a car accident, whether it is a minor fender-bender or a catastrophic head-on collision, is never easy. People can be seriously injured in car accidents, and in the worst of circumstances they could lose their lives. At times like these, it may be essential for accident victims or their families to pursue compensation that will help them cover the many expenses that follow an accident. Yet what happens if the negligent party does not have car insurance?
Car accidents happen all the time in Ohio. When a car accident involves two vehicles, both drivers are supposed to stay at the scene of the accident, exchange insurance information and call the police if anyone is injured or if there is significant vehicle or property damage.