Kentucky Looks to Remind Uninsured Motorists About Insurance Law

When people are injured or killed in motor vehicle accidents caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists, securing compensation presents several practical and legal challenges. Even if the accident is covered by an insurance policy owned by the driver who was not at fault, medical expenses and property losses can easily exceed policy limits.

While motor vehicle owners in Kentucky and Ohio must carry liability coverage, far too many of them choose to ignore that obligation. Kentucky recently took steps to better enforce its mandatory insurance law.

The Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicle Registration recently began mailing notices to owners who have been without coverage for 60 days. Those who are not able to provide proof of insurance within 30 days will have their registrations revoked.

The commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Insurance has issued an advisory opinion regarding data that insurance companies provide to the state. The point of this action is to identify inconsistencies between vehicle identification numbers (VIN) on state vehicle registration documents and the VINs listed on insurance policy documents. Owners are responsible for resolving irregularities with a county clerk or the DMV's Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing (MVL), as well as correcting mistakes in insurance company records.

Cracking down on uninsured motorists should help reduce some problems, including lapsed coverage and mistakes regarding incorrect identification of personal and commercial policies. Yet some drivers will always feel that the risk of driving without insurance is theirs to make.

When those drivers cause serious or fatal injuries to others, an auto accident attorney can assess the protection provided by uninsured motorist (UM) and personal injury protection (PIP) insurance policies and help a client understand his or her rights to compensation for lost wages, medical expenses and other losses.